My Gadget History #12 Gateway LT2104u Netbook

20110621-040708.jpg
Let me just say that eBay is a gadget addicts friend. Not only have I bought some of my gadgets on eBay (Zaurus & eee PC), but now I sell any gadget that I’ve stopped using regularly (Palm TX, eee PC, iPod Nano, Nintendo DS, Kindle 2, and a Nook Color).

My next gadget was a gateway netbook. I had been doing lesson plans on my iPod Touch using Documents To Go. While I loved the convenience of this arrangement, I needed more screen to work with and I needed to be able to edit equations (I’m a math & science teacher). I really wanted an iPad, but the more I researched it, the more I realized it did not meet my needs. My school had upgraded my work computer and it now had Office 2007 which has an equation editor built into Word. I studied netbooks and ended up getting a Gateway LT2104u. I upgraded the RAM from 1GB to 2GB, upgraded from Windows 7 Starter to Windows 7 Home Premium, and installed Office 2010 Home & Student and my test generating software from school. This set-up served me well for a couple of years.

I loved using MS Word and the long battery life was great – about 5 to 7 hours depending on use.

It did everything I needed…it was just…too…slow! Slow starting up, slow launching programs. So, I started shopping for an instant on device.

Leave a Reply

