My Gadget History #6 Sharp ZR-5800 Zaurus

20110502-124152.jpg
This should have been listed before my first smartphone.
When I had all the major Palm software websites memorized, and had downloaded all the programs that I had ever wanted, I started checking out Ebay for my next gadget. I went “old school” and inexpensive with my next purchase, the Zaurus, which I got on Ebay for $30. I loved having a keyboard, and was actually able to touch type on it. The Zaurus used 2 AA batteries, and since my digital camera also used AAs, I invested in some rechargable batteries and a charger.
Like the Palm devices, the Zaurus had to be synced with a PC regularly (if the batteries died before a sync, new info was lost).
I loved the Zaurus, the construction felt solid and it had all the features I wanted. I used it for quite a while, but when flash memory became more common and affordable, it was time to start shopping for my next gadget.

2 responses to “My Gadget History #6 Sharp ZR-5800 Zaurus

Leave a Reply

